Pages Menu

Posted by on Oct 22, 2012 in Uncategorized | 0 comments

Introduction to Medicare

Medicare is a Federal health insurance program which covers people 65 years old and older, and younger people who are disabled.  Medicare is divided into four main parts.  Part A covers hospital care and skilled nursing care. Part B covers doctors’ services and Durable Medical Equipment, such as wheelchairs and oxygen tanks.  Part C is the Medicare Advantage system, which consists of HMO (Health Maintenance Organizations) and PPO’s (Preferred Provider Organizations), and Part D covers prescription drugs.

There are many factors, such as premium amounts and co-payment amounts, to be considered when choosing from among the many options a person has when on Medicare.  The Health Insurance Counseling and Advocacy Program (HICAP), a division of Elder Law and Advocacy, can assist you in understanding the Medicare system. For an appointment, please call (858) 565-8772.

Attorney Chris Crowson describes Medicare:

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.